Toronto is home to a diverse range of universities, colleges and schools, and is a centre of research and development. The University of Toronto is Canada's largest university, with over 9,000 faculty and staff members, and over 60,000 graduate and undergraduate students. It offers teaching programs in 17 academic divisions across three campuses: the St. George campus, University of Toronto at Mississauga (UTM) and the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC). The university is consistently ranked as one of the world's leading universities. The city is also home to York University, Ryerson University, the Ontario College of Art & Design, the Royal Conservatory of Music which includes the Glenn Gould School, Seneca College, Humber College, Centennial College, Sheridan College, George Brown College and the Toronto Film School. The Canadian Film Centre is an advanced film, television and new media training institute established by filmmaker Norman Jewison. Toronto's elementary and high schools are operated by the Toronto District School Board and the separate Toronto Catholic District School Board. The Toronto Public Library is the largest public library system in Canada and the second busiest (by number of visits) in the world after the Hong Kong Public Library.


Health and medicine

Toronto is home to the world-renowned Hospital for Sick Children, Mount Sinai Hospital, St. Michael's Hospital, Toronto General Hospital, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Princess Margaret Hospital among others (see also: List of hospitals in Toronto) and the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine, regarded as one of the best medical faculties in the world.

Toronto's "Discovery District" is global centre of groundbreaking research in biomedicine. It is located on a 2.5 square kilometre research park that is fully integrated into Toronto’s downtown core. It contains the University of Toronto, and one of the greatest concentrations of research institutions and teaching hospitals anywhere in the world. It is also home to the MaRS (Medical and Related Sciences) Centre, which was created in 2000 to capitalize on the research and innovation strength of the Province of Ontario, and to position Canada for leadership in the highly competitive global innovation economy.



Toronto has North America's second largest public transit system after New York City. Canada's busiest airport, Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ), is located along the city's western boundary with Mississauga. The city also has a smaller commercial airport, the politically contentious Toronto City Centre Airport (usually called the "Island Airport"), located on the Toronto Islands.

The Government of Ontario operates an extensive rail and bus transit system called GO Transit that links Toronto with neighbouring cities and suburbs. 38 trains on 7 train lines run 179 trips, and carry over 160,000 passengers a day. An additional 288 buses feed the main rail lines. The Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) provides public transit within the City of Toronto. Its backbone is the city's subway system, which includes the "U"-shaped north-south Yonge-University-Spadina line, the east-west Bloor-Danforth line, the east-west Sheppard line through the northern part of the city, and the Scarborough RT line running through the eastern part of the city (Scarborough). The TTC also operates an extensive network of buses and streetcars.